Lewisham to sell off 1600 SE23/SE26 homes?

The place for serious discussion, announcements and breaking news about Sydenham
admin
Site Admin

Lewisham to sell off 1600 SE23/SE26 homes?

Post by admin »

A Lewisham Press Release received today had me a bit baffled. I really couldn't do a news story as I don't understand significant parts of it. Please help if you have any knowledge of this proposal, what went wrong with Chrysalis PFI, and the wishes of the people involved.

It looks to be very important to a lot of local people. Is this good or bad news?

BTW I have had some experience of issues arising from the Phoenix transfer which, in the interests of neutrality, I shall keep to myself.

Admin

>>>>>>>>>>>
Go-ahead given to look at options for stock transfers in ‘Chrysalis PFI’ area

Plans to explore stock transfer options for homes in the ‘Chrysalis PFI’ area in south east London, have been given the go-ahead by Lewisham Council.

The go-ahead was given by the Council at a meeting on 28 May, following extensive consultation with residents to explore stock transfers in three distinct areas that, together, formed the former Chrysalis PFI.

Consultation with residents began in January this year, to listen to their views about how they saw the future management and development of their homes. Staff talked to residents at a number of events and drop-in sessions. These sessions also provided closure for the PFI.

A test of opinion survey took place in March (2008). 70% of the residents who expressed a preference about how investment should be raised, supported looking further into stock transfer from the Council to a Registered Social Landlord. This was ratified at the meeting on 28 May.

Councillor Susan Wise, Cabinet Member for Customer Services, said: "Lewisham Council values the opinions and views of its residents, and we have talked extensively with those in the "Chrysalis" area and listened to their views for their homes.